Kigezi College Butobere Old Students get New leadership in highly contested elections.

By Our Senior Reporter.

First hand information Report.


On Sunday 12th June 2022 the Kigezi College Butobere Old Students under their association Siniya Alumni Forum gathered at Imperial Royale Hotel Kampala for their Annual General Meeting.

This was the first Annual General Meeting since 2018 following the outbreak of COVID-19 and a number of Basiniya attended.

Old Students assembled for a group photo after the meeting

An estimated number of about 120 Old students were present at the hotel.

The chairman of the Siniya Alumni Forum called the meeting to order at a half past 4 pm and chaired the meeting till late.

Chairman Moses Turyomurugyendo Ntahobari chairing the Meeting.

Most Basiniya deliberated, identifying the source of the problem and suggesting viable solutions to help restore the lost glory of The greatest Only SINIYA “South of the Sahara And North of the Limpopo” as the old boys prefer to call her.

Most notable alumni in the meeting was Prof. Mondo Kagonyera, a pioneer Student who was the first to enter the gates of Kigezi College Butobere, Retired Justice Dr . Patrick Tabaro, Dr. Kiremire Mashire an executive boss at National Planning Authority, Dr. Kamara Nicholas, the kabale Municipality MP, and Hon. Musasizi Henry, the state minister for finance planning and Economic development (General Duties) among other highly respected Basiniya.

The old Students present fundraised an amount of 22 million Uganda shillings to support the school activities in cash and pledges.

On the agenda was election of The new Executive Committee and members present had to elect their fellows.

Counting of votes exercise during elections. Agents and Presiding officer at the tally center.

Counsel Elvis Twenda of Namara &Twenda advocates was elected chairman, Dr. Kamara Nicholas the vice chairperson, Engineer Ivan Rwendeire as the General secretary to be deputised by Jesse Kabagambe, Dr. Eng. Martin Tumutungire as the treasurer with Dickens Tukamushaba as his vice. Tusiime Boub Innocent was elected  Coordinator Mobilisation and publicity while Gatera Martin, Ndyabahika Elisha, Nkurunziza Brian and Davis Barugahare were elected committee members.

The executive committee after being declared successful in elections paused for a group photo with their patron and chairman Board of Governors.

The chairman Moses Turyomurugyendo Ntahobari commended the members for participating in a very free and fair elections and assured the new committee of total support in their endeavors.

The chairman elect, Elvis Twenda in his acceptance speech on behalf of the new committee promised to start in high gear and capitalize on old committee achievements to keep the Siniya flag higher.

Chairman elect Elvis Twenda giving his acceptance speech on behalf of the new committee.
Hon. Musasizi Henry, the state minister of finance (General Duties) speaking at the function.

The state minister of finance General Duties Hon. Henry Musasizi, an old student and former head prefect(2000) while giving closing remarks accepted to become the Siniya Alumni Forum Patron and promised to fight harder to protect the interests of Butobere. He thanked the outgoing committee for their selfless efforts to keep Siniya Alumni united and asked the new committee to lead by example and ensure accountability in their duties.



Outgoing Executive Committee


Dickens Tukamushaba (Right), the youngest committee member(vice treasurer elect) taking a photo with the patron and chairman BOG.


Related Articles

Back to top button
× How can I help you?