FDC’s Muzanira Bamukwatsa wins Rukungiri Woman MP By-election

DAILYNEWS UG: Forum for Democratic Change’s Betty Muzanira Bamukwatsa has been declared the winner of the hotly contest Rukungiri Woman Member of Parliament by-election.

FDC’s Bamukwatsa garnered 50,611 votes while her cloest rival the National Resistance Movement’s Winfred Matsiko received 46,329 votes at the polling booth.

Bamukwatsa was declared winner by the Electoral Commission’s returning officer Kiyimba Umar at the Rukungiri District Council Hall.

The results were as follows

FDC – Bamukwatsa Betty Muzanira =50,611

NRM – Matsiko Winfred = 46,329

Indep – Mbaguta Prisca = 993

PPP – Kukundakwe Fabith = 183

The by election had attracted political heavyweights from both camps with NRM chairman President Yoweri Museveni campaigning for Winfred Matsiko. Former FDC president Dr Kizza Besigye as well as popular musician and MP Robert Kyagulanyi also pitched camp in Rukungiri days leading up to the election.


Share Button

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *